I have always had a problem with being a slow reader so it would always take me a really long time to get my required reading all done. When I would have to write a paper I would start getting anxiety attacks and start panicking until the paper was finished. I remember going to bed one night counting essays in my sleep like I was in a horror movie or part of a psychotic mind experiment only to wake up with a migraine headache. After a few events like that I decided that it was time to get with the program and learn to do better. You have to remember that failure is not an option for me so the only real choices that I really had was to either except those nightmarish killer headaches or survive. In my case what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

I began to start reading more for the purpose of picking up my reading speed. One day I was at a second hand book store looking for some cheap books to get started. It was there that I discovered some of J.R.R Tolkien’s work. His work changed my life completely around to now where I want to write as good as him. I began to write fluently with many failed attempts but I still would love to be a writer if only I had the tools for the job. I am here at university to earn those tools. By the way if you have seen the movies The Lord of the Rings read the books a much better story.

After reading through many of the classes autobiography statements including my own I have come to realize that many of us have the same problem. It is like we know what we want to say but have trouble getting it all out. I think it is because that we have so many ideas coming to us all at once that we are mixing our ideas together. I have found that with all the techniques that we were taught in class will help us or at least help me. My favorite technique is the one where we are to pick up a pen and start writing whatever comes to mind then stop and see what comes out. That’s works for me probably because I am very high strung person.